September 23, 2015 (Speakeasy) 151 NYC

(Revamp)

I became the girl the girl that orders table for one skimming through the restaurant menu with all eyes on me…The modern day vixen… Is very different from the endless supply of obvious “hot chicks” over saturating the bars and restaurants all around New York City across the great expanse of the universe. While most definitely sexy, I just unintentionally stand out from the crowd because of my immeasurable brain power, endless depth and natural complexity; of course I knew what the fuck I was doing and don’t subscribe to the tired notion of “false modesty.”

I understand that I look oh so fine in my black cherry lipstick  and chic all black atire. I have always been aware of y mystique… As the bartender handed me another round of my usual drink “Casual Magic.” That is a very old fashioned classic drink from the 70s.

“Casual Magic is an Old Fashioned that tastes great and incorporates some nuanced tropical flavors,” he says. “Old Forester was a natural choice for the bourbon as it has some fantastic roasted coconut notes as well as mint and vanilla.” – One Fifty One bar NYC

Here’s how to make it.

CASUAL MAGIC

1 oz. Rittenhouse Rye Whiskey
1 oz. Pierre Ferrand 1840
1 tsp. Pineapple syrup
2 drops Tiki bitters
1 dash Angostura Bitters

In an Old Fashioned glass, mix ingredients and stir with ice until chilled. Garnish with a pineapple frond.

That was my usual drink on Tuesday nights after work, I’d go straight to 70s-inspired bar on the Lower East Side, “151.” It was a cozy low key bar themed like someones basement from the 1970’s . Black and white checkered floor, velvet red leather couches, disco balls, flamingos anything you could think of from your grand parents basement to garage with the playlist of Pink Floyd to Janis Joplin to Ella Fitzgerald it was my kinda place. I always felt at home or at ease there because it reminded me of home. The way my mom had placed black and white checkered tiles on the floor, glass dinning table and yellow leather heart shaped vintage metal dinning chairs with silver run studs round edges. Being young and purposely waking up in the middle of the night just to examine the fine quality, the colors; how everything just went so well together. It was different from my friends homes or anything that I had ever seen growing up in the Lower East Side of Manhattan.

Ayana Carey

 

Leave a Reply

